2019 Scholarship Winners

The Wisconsin PGA Junior Foundation is proud to announce the 2019 scholarship winners.  Thirty four individuals were awarded scholarships totaling $35,000. We congratulate all the applicants for their great accomplishments.


Tony Coleman Scholarship $1,250 (One boy recipient)
Derek Vaillancourt of Fort Atkinson was awarded the Tony Coleman Memorial Scholarship for $1,250. Tony was the PGA General Manager and COO for Bishops Bay Country Club from 1994-2013.  He led the facility from its development into the first rate operation it remains today.  Tony was a 36 year member of the PGA. Tony’s passion for golf was most evident when working with a junior golfer wishing to excel in the game.  This scholarship was made possible by the generous support of the Coleman family, friends, Bishops Bay CC members and the membership of the Wisconsin PGA.


College Scholarships

Chloe Crusan - $1,000

Lorenza Martinez - $1,000

Alex Brandt - $1,000

Michael Spengler - $1,000

Kailey Godfrey - $500

Sarah Busey - $500

Nathan Kroll - $500


Terry Noel Scholarship  ($1,250)

Annie Balduzzi of Onalaska was awarded the Terry Noel Memorial Scholarship for $1,250. Terry was a tribute to golf, but more importantly a tribute to respect and love of mankind and the ability to spread happiness with his kindness and constant smile.   Terry was first and foremost a loving husband, brother, uncle, and friend to all he met. Terry was also a proud Army veteran from the Vietnam era, serving most of his time in Germany and at The Presidio in San Francisco, CA. Finally, Terry was an avid, passionate golfer who spread his goodwill on the course and off.


High School Senior Scholarships

Aubrie Torhorst - $1,000

Bree Borgen - $1,000

Sophia Dooman - $1,000

Alexandra DeGroot - $1,000

Grace Westerman - $1,000

Max Kachelek - $750

Bonnie Jin - $750

Evan Thomas - $750

James Johnson - $500

Connor Kolb - $500

Joe Guerrera - $500

Matthew Raab - $500

Steven Sanicki - $500

Daniel Sanicki - $500

Emma Egbert - $500

Zachary Bernhardt - $500

Lillian Sheppard - $500

Austin Thyes - $500



Kid to Kid Scholarship ($1,250)

Max Schmidtke of Sheboygan was awarded the Kid to Kid Scholarship for $1,250. This scholarship will be awarded based on three qualities: showing a solid history of giving back to the community, integrity and sportsmanship.  This scholarship funds were raised by the generous donations of golfers throughout the state.  Marty Swab, WPGA Junior Foundation member raised the money by collecting donations  at area golf courses and out in the community.  A great candidate for this scholarship would show a history of giving back, always having a good attitude towards other people and should be a graceful winner or loser.  The last two criteria will be decided by the tournament staff so you will have to show yourself out on the golf course.


Thornberry Creek LPGA Scholarship ($2,250)

Reagan Beyer of Oshkosh was awarded the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic Scholarship for $2,250. The WPGA Junior Foundation has teamed up with the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic to offer this scholarship. Thornberry Creek has brought a new LPGA tour event to Wisconsin. The winner of this scholarship will be invited to receive their award during the final round of the Thornberry Creek LPGA Classic.  The event will be played at Thornberry Creek on July 4-7.


Kevin Dunn Memorial Scholarship ($1,250)

Vincent Omernik of Custer was awarded the Kevin Dunn Memorial Scholarship for $1,250. Family and friends were the most important parts of Kevin’s life and he shared his passion for golf with them wholeheartedly.  In his youth, his summers were mostly spent at area golf courses.  He caddied at Westmoor C.C. and honed his golf skills through tournaments such as the Junior Masters at Johnson Park and as a member of the Waukesha South High School golf team. While many of his childhood friends continued to be close golf buddies, he also forged new friendships as both a player in state tournaments and club events at Muskego Lakes C.C., and also as a junior golf spectator. He was an active member of an online golf forum and participant in the 2011 Morgan Cup which extended his circle of golf comrades throughout the U.S. and abroad.  Golf was a major piece of his family life – he taught his wife Mary and daughter Grace the game he loved.  They enjoyed many hours playing and practicing together that will always be cherished.  He often said the most joy he ever experienced from golf was spectating at his daughter’s junior, high school and college events.  He was particularly proud that he had attended all but a handful of Grace's many tournaments.


American Family Insurance Scholarship - $3,000 (One boy and One girl recipient)

The WPGA Junior Foundation has teamed up with the Steve Stricker American Family Insurance Foundation to offer these two scholarships. American Family Insurance has brought a new PGA Champions Tour event to Wisconsin. The event was played at University Ridge on June 21-23. As part of the event the Steve Stricker American Family Insurance Foundation is making charitable donations to groups around the state and the WPGA Junior Foundation was chosen to receive some of these funds.
Girls Winner – Markie Ash of Waupaca  - $3,000

Boys Winner – Nathan Koch of Franksville - $3,000

Balance and Believe Scholarship - $2,000 (Two recipients)
The Balance & Believe Foundation, based in Madison, WI, was formed in 2014 by Derek Schnarr to help promote junior golf, teach life lessons, and focus on community service. These three pillars of the Foundation come together in the Foundation's mission statement - Promoting junior golf, while providing a platform for kids to give back to the community. Over the past four years the Foundation has used this event, previously called the Michael Luedtke Memorial Golf Outing, to raise the necessary funds to support the multitude of programs in the Madison area they are involved with. The programs range from the Food Pantry and Resource Center at Falk Elementary School, to the Snack Pack program at Olson Elementary School, B&B36 program, Longest Day of Golf, and the B&B Community, Michael Luedtke, and Dick Wilson Memorial Scholarships.
Girls Winner – Lillian Knetter of Madison - $2,000
Boys Winner – Jack Anderson of Brookfield - $2,000